Monday, May 2, 2011

The Triangle Awards

The winners for the best LGBT books of 2010. The winners were announced at the 23rd annual Triangle Awards, April 28, 2011, at the New School. Also listed below were the finalists for each category.

The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

* WINNER! Barbara Hammer, Hammer! (Feminist Press)


* Terry Castle, The Professor and Other Writings (HarperCollins)
* Emma Donoghue, Inseparable: Desire Between Women in Literature (Alfred A. Knopf)

The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

* WINNER! Justin Spring, Secret Historian: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward (Farrar Straus Giroux)


* R. Tripp Evans, Grant Wood (Alfred A. Knopf)
* Wendy Moffat, A Great Unrecorded History: A New Life of E. M. Forster (Farrar Straus Giroux)

The judges for these nonfiction awards have also voted to bestow a Judges’ Special Award in Nonfiction to Gender Outlaws: The Next Generation, edited by Kate Bornstein and S. Bear Bergman (Seal Press). Carol Rosenfeld, chair of the Publishing Triangle said, “The Triangle is recognizing this anthology, which celebrates gender nonconforming people in all their beauty, humanity, and complexity, with a special prize. The contributors to this book confront gender issues with such vibrant, mind-expanding style that readers are urged to question the status quo of seeing gender in binary ways.”

The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

* WINNER! Jen Currin, The Inquisition Yours (Coach House Books)


* Elizabeth J. Colen, Money for Sunsets (Steel Toe Books)
* Eleanor Lerman, The Sensual World Re-emerges (Sarabande Books)

The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

* WINNER! Michael Walsh, The Dirt Riddles (University of Arkansas Press)


* Paul Legault, The Madeleine Poems (Omnidawn)
* Eric Leigh, Harm’s Way (University of Arkansas Press)

The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

* WINNER! Katharine Beutner, Alcestis (Soho Press)


* Michael Alenyikov, Ivan and Misha (Triquarterly/Northwestern University Press)
* Catherine Kirkwood, Cut Away (Arktoi Books)

The Ferro-Grumley Awards for LGBT Fiction (presented in conjunction with Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards)

* WINNER! Michael Sledge, The More I Owe You (Counterpoint Press)


* Daniel Black, Perfect Peace (St. Martin’s Press)
* Lucy Jane Bledsoe, Big Bang Symphony (University of Wisconsin Press)
* Daniel Allen Cox, Krakow Melt (Arsenal Pulp Press)
* David McConnell, The Silver Hearted (Alyson)
* Eileen Myles, Inferno (OR Books)

Alan Hollinghurst Receives
Bill Whitehead Award

Alan Hollinghurst is the 2011 recipient of the Publishing Triangle’s Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement, named in honor of the legendary editor of the 1970s and 1980s.

HollinghurstHollinghurst, a novelist, scholar, and activist, won the Man Booker prize for his fourth novel, The Line of Beauty, in 2004. A professor at University College in London, he is a published poet and has translated Racine’s Bazajet. He has also edited several books, including a volume of poems by A. E. Housman and Three Novels by Ronald Firbank. Since his dazzling debut, The Swimming Pool Library, in 1988, Hollinghurst has been regarded as one of the best novelists writing in English in our time. His other books are The Folding Star, winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction (1994), and The Spell (1998). His new novel, The Stranger’s Child, will be published in October 2011 by Alfred A. Knopf.

In thanking the Triangle for this honor, Hollinghurst stated, "I won't pretend that I feel ready for such an award, or had ever anticipated one. But I accept it eagerly, and in the generous spirit in which it is given--not (I think) as a discreet suggestion that I've done enough, but as an encouragement to carry on."

Mr. Hollinghurst received his award at the annual Triangle Awards, honoring the best in LBGT fiction, nonfiction, and poetry; the ceremony was held on Thursday, April 28, 2011, at the New School in Greenwich Village, New York. The Bill Whitehead Award is given to a man in odd-numbered years and to a woman in even years, and the winner receives $3,000.

No comments:

Post a Comment